Meet New Member Priscilla Young!

Please join us in welcoming our newest Printmakers Inc. member, Priscilla Young. Her colorful, lively work is a terrific addition to our studio. Stop by Studio 325 to say hi and see it for yourself!

Priscilla Young, "12th & Vine" (1998), woodcut

Priscilla Young, “12th & Vine” (1998), woodcut

What inspires your work?

The things around me are most inspirational; be it natural forms or man-made structures.  I have a degree in civil engineering and have always loved math and chemistry.  So I’m drawn to perspective, contrasting forms, patterns and shapes.

Priscilla Young, "Starbuck Noon," woodblock print

Priscilla Young, “Starbuck Noon,” woodblock print

What techniques or mediums do you prefer? Why?

I work in several mediums in order to achieve different results.  Acrylics and Oils are great for figurative paintings.  They give me the freedom to work quickly and spontaneously with large brushes in the beginning and finishing at a slower pace with smaller, controlled strokes.  Watercolors are a totally different experience…it’s a marriage of the wetness of the paper, size and concentration of the paint in the brush and the touch of the hand.  I like the spontaneity and unexpected outcome of the product.  The watercolor marks can be altered but not changed.  I construct a 2-D image that evolves with no preconceived idea for the resulting end product.  Relief printing gives me a combination of these two processes.  It combines both spontaneity and control over the final image.  The lengthy process of carving puts the creative process in slow motion.  It’s a very Zen-like process for me…which is why I always come back to it.

What were you doing before joining Printmakers

I have recently been working on a series of watercolors and prints of insects.  It’s been a theme I had thought about for a long time and didn’t act on until a few years ago when I found a perfect, recently expired, luna moth on the ground near my home.  The first decade of my life was spent in Southeast Asia where some of my most vivid images are of insects.  I recall unworldly colors and shapes, and the constant background song whose volume rises and falls as the day unfolds.  This series of work is an attempt to celebrate these memories.

Priscilla Young, "Iridescent Beginnings" (2011), stencilcut

Priscilla Young, “Iridescent Beginnings” (2011), stencilcut

What are you working on now?

I am continuing to work on the insect series and some themes that continue to interest me; natural objects, man made bridges, and people watching (scenes from malls and cafes).  In addition I have recently started to paint portraits using neighbors as my live models.

Priscilla Young, "Carpenter Bee" (2011). Watercolor

Priscilla Young, “Carpenter Bee” (2011). Watercolor

What are you working on next?

I want to expand on the recently initiated portraiture series of my neighbors.  I’m not exactly sure in what direction it will take me.  It’s always a challenge to paint or draw from life.  And I love the aspect of including people who are a part of my community.  There is a familiarity that I hope will inform the work.

Priscilla Young, "Sarah" (2013), acrylic on canvas

Priscilla Young, “Sarah” (2013), acrylic on canvas

And anything else you’d like us to know about you or your work?

I am very excited to have been invited to join the Printmakers.  I feel very much at home with the members and just love the studio space!  I have been working on my own for several years and am thrilled to have the opportunity to work with such an accomplished group of artist.

This entry was posted in transitions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

